2018 ASC Award Winners (Premiaçoes de Diretores de fotografia do American Society cinematographer)

2018 ASC Award Winners

The ASC Awards have been announced and Roger Deakins has taken home the top award for his work on Blade Runner 2049. This marks his fourth Theatrical Award for best cinematography win from the ASC. Is this a sign of things to come at the 2018 Academy Awards? The full winner and nominee list is below: 

Roger Deakins on set. Image Courtesy of ASC.

Please see below for the full list of winners and nominees:

Theatrical Release Category:

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for “Blade Runner 2049” – WINNER
Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for “Darkest Hour”
Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for “Dunkirk”
Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for “The Shape of Water”
Rachel Morrison, ASC for “Mudbound”

Spotlight Award Category:

Máté Herbai, HSC for “On Body and Soul”
Mikhail Krichman, RGC for “Loveless”
Mart Taniel, ESC for “November” – WINNER

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television:

Gonzalo Amat for “The Man in the High Castle” (Land O’ Smiles) on Amazon
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC for “The Crown” (Smoke and Mirrors) on Netflix – WINNER
Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC for “Game of Thrones” (The Spoils of War) on HBO
Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC for “Game of Thrones” (Dragonstone) on HBO
Alasdair Walker for “Outlander” (The Battle Joined) on Starz

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television:

Dana Gonzales, ASC for “Legion” (Chapter 1) on FX
David Greene, ASC, CSC for “12 Monkeys” (Mother) on Syfy
Kurt Jones for “The Originals” (Bag of Cobras) on The CW
Boris Mojsovski, CSC for “12 Monkeys” (Thief) on Syfy – WINNER
Crescenzo Notarile, ASC for “Gotham” (Mad City: The Executioner) on Fox

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television:

Pepe Avila del Pino for “The Deuce” pilot on HBO
Serge Desrosiers, CSC for “Sometimes the Good Kill” on Lifetime
Mathias Herndl, AAC for “Genius” (Einstein: Chapter 1) on National Geographic – WINNER
Shelly Johnson, ASC for “Training Day” pilot (Apocalypse Now) on CBS
Christopher Probst, ASC for “Mindhunter” pilot on Netflix

According to Deadline, in the past 32 years, 13 ASC winners have gone on to win the Oscar for Cinematography. Could this be the year that Roger Deakins takes home the Academy Award after 14 nominations, or is the smart money on Rachel Morrison for her impeccable work on Mudbound? Or, someone else entirely? We’ll find out on March 4th.